Book Spine Poetry – Paris

Large-Blue-RGB-National-Poetry-Month-Logo

Today is the fourth stop on the Savvy Verse & Wit National Poetry Month Blog Tour.

The concept of book spine poetry appeared in 1993 with Nina Katchadourian’s Sorted Books project. Katchadourian began collecting interesting titles and arranging them in clusters so the spines could be read like a sentence. Maria Popova of Brain Pickings adapted the spine sentences into poetry, and the idea quickly spread around.

NPMBlogTour2016I learned that teachers have been using this technique to inspire kids to write poems (and use their books!), and that there are book spine poetry contests floating around the internet.

Since I last created book spine poems three years ago, inspired by a friend of mine who wrote the most stunning book title poem, I bought quite a few new books.

To name the best examples, I gave up buying something else and bought one book each month in 2013.
And then after receiving an Amazon voucher in December 2015 as the sole winner of an Innovation Week event our client held at work, I bought seven books in one fell swoop.

Some of them I’ve read already, some not yet.
However, here is some book spine poetry I managed to arrange from the newer titles I own.

For some reason, my heart was drawn to a Paris theme this time around.

20160414_182903

Paris letters,
the sweet life in Paris,
(and) Paris in love –
All the brights places,
(are) hidden in Paris.

Messing up my beautifully organized shelves was worth it.

Want to play? Go arrange some of your books into pretty book spine poetry and then leave me a link to your photo in the comments section so I can check it out :)

How is your National Poetry Month going? Read anything you think I’d like? Do share!

3 Responses to “Book Spine Poetry – Paris”

  1. I have this activity later this week too! I hope others will share theirs with us.

Trackbacks

Leave a reply. You'll be rewarded with cookies!

