Recipe of the Month: Crunchy Brain

That title sounds interestingly weird, right? I know, I know. But trust me on this one!

When I was still a kid, you wouldn’t have caught me dead eating anything as exotic as this recipe sounds, but after I’ve gotten older and my mom tried this crunchy brain version, I actually like it!
Granted, the whole way through the process of dipping the brain pieces in flour, the egg mixture and in breadcrumbs I was feeling like I would’ve done anything else but feel the squishy brain in my hands… but hey, I survived! And I SO deserve a week off from cooking for this one :))

page crunchy brain

crunchy brain

Crunchy Brain

2 whole eggs
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
2 pounds brain
2 cups flour
2 cups whole wheat breadcrumbs
Olive oil, for drizzling

Heat oven to 400 degrees. Line a baking sheet with a wire rack, or with parchment paper.

Combine the eggs, salt, and cayenne in a dish. Dip the brain pieces in flour, then in the egg mixture and transfer to a dish with breadcrumbs, pressing to coat each side.

Transfer to your baking sheet. Drizzle with oil. Bake until golden and brain pieces are cooked through, about 16 minutes. Season with salt.

The potatoes shown in the above pictures are cut up, drizzled with a bit of oil, seasoned with salt, pepper and coriander, and baked in the oven at 400 degrees for about 20-30 minutes.

Serve the crunchy brain to your and your family’s liking with dressing, salad, hot sauce, etc. with a side of rice, potatoes or freshly baked bread.

 

Note: I make my own breadcrumbs as opposed to buying them from the store – there’s always leftover bread no one wants to eat, so I leave it to dry or pop it into the still-hot oven after I finish baking, then grind and store it in an airtight container.

Bon appétit! ;)

4 Comments to “Recipe of the Month: Crunchy Brain”

  1. Back in the day, my dad ate brain sandwiches… I was the kind of kid who ate anything, but that was one thing I couldn’t muster. I mean, I even at blood sausage, which sounds so much worse than a brain sandwich. Ha. Still don’t think I’ll eat brain though. :-)

    • That’s so funny that your dad ate brain sandwiches, and you don’t – even though you ate blood sausages (which is definitely still on my list of things to never ever even try again!) ;)
      They’re interesting dishes however, so I completely understand if someone doesn’t want to try/doesn’t like such things.

  2. That would be “ATE” blood sausage. Ooops. Should proof before I send.

Leave a reply. You'll be rewarded with cookies!

