FYA Self-love Challenge: Week Three

During the third week of this self-love challenge, I was tiling the balcony with my boyfriend. So, it means I didn’t get a chance to truly think of self-love during that time frame. But I have the feeling that it does qualify as such, given we are so happy now that it’s done and pretty! It’s a joy to sit and enjoy our morning latte out there while the cat gives us tiny heart attacks every time he goes too close to the ledge.

So this is week three. Nearly a month later, and backdated. I was a bit sad that I don’t own “Find Your Awesome” yet, maybe having it in my hands I would’ve followed-through more easily when Life happened.

Day 11 – Hold a burning ceremony
I needed to do this. Possibly only for the act itself of physically letting go of the piece of paper containing my list of things to let go. It felt good.

Day 12 – Doodle your loves
This particular task proved difficult for me, so I went with a photo collage of the things I love instead of doodling them.

Day 13 – Hug it out
Friends showed up with a lovely, late birthday gift, so they got hugged. Family, boyfriend and the cat get many hugs on a daily basis.

Day 14 – Make a list of people you are grateful for
A, I, and D, because they make office hours more fun.
The BF, because he can be the most amazing person to be around.
Family, because they care.
The cats, because they’re cuddly and give their love unconditionally.

Day 15 – Organize something (or Finding space)
I was re-organizing the balcony and making all kinds of space, too. First we needed to take everything inside, to clear the whole balcony. Then, I organized and threw out unused boxes and broken things that were simply filling space unnecessarily. Then I only put the needed stuff back in the two wood racks we have out there, after I stained them – they look brand new now and aren’t cluttered!

How was your week? Did you sign up for the challenge? How did it go? Even if you haven’t joined or haven’t finished the self-love challenge, what did you do this week to love yourself?

2 Comments to “FYA Self-love Challenge: Week Three”

  1. I signed up for the self-love challenge but then didn’t follow-through. Yes, this is my MO. I sign up for all kinds of things, get excited to start, and then don’t finish. It’s the hallmark of an ADDer. At some point, I’m going to make an appointment and maybe get on some medication, especially since I’m looking into going back to school.

    This week’s self-love to myself was simply taking a nap when I needed one–we are all mostly done with our jet-lag but we still needed some naps every now and again. I took them and didn’t feel guilty when I woke up and had to make hamburgers or frozen lasagna instead of a gourmet meal.

    • Well, I don’t feel that alone in not completing the challenge with the group then! :) Thank you for telling me about this, but here’s hoping you do make an appointment for ADD meds. I think it’d be good, especially if you want to feel better about yourself and also get back to studying. I recall you like researching lots of things, so imagine how much more you’ll get done even on that front.

      I like your self-love act of simply taking naps when needed. We’ve been having a couple of busy weeks and gotten to bed way too late nearly every single evening, so if only I could nap I’d jump on the occasion! And rest assured, we had no gourmet meals either, and it was fine. I did my best, and it was enough. That’s a form of self-love, too.

Leave a reply. You'll be rewarded with cookies!

